Nederbrakel is the largest village of the Brakel municipality (about 6500 inhabitants). At the same time, it is the administrative centre of Brakel, providing all kinds of services, including cultural activities. With shopsand nursing homes, like anywhere else in the civilized world.
The fact the population ofNederbrakel has increased steadily over the years is mainly due to its ideal location, at the intersection of roads to surrounding cities like Ronse, Oudenaarde,Zottegem and Geraardsbergen.In 1515 the village already had a covered market hall and a weekly market day.
Despite its busy centreNederbrakel equals its neighbouring picturesque villages in beautiful scenery. Climb the Valkenberg and the Toep hill and enjoy the stunning panoramic views. On the top of the Toep hill you can visit Toep castle and the Toep park, where countless springs bubble up at a height of 100 metres.
Saint Peter’s Church. Its tower houses a carillon of no fewer than 49 bells, installed in 1959. The church was built between 1515 and 1551, but the monumental Gothic tower is the only part of the original building that is left. In 1828 the church was rebuilt and enlarged. The furniture inside the church is mainly 18th century, with a pulpit from 1760, designed by Damianus De Staercke.
Toep Chapel. On the way to Lierde, on the top of the hill, stands a chapel, named after its location. The word ‘toep’ means ‘top’ or ‘ridge’. When the Germans were forced back by the English troops in 1918 and retreated plundering the villages, Nederbrakelwas also threatened. But on 11 November the Germans surrendered and fortunately, the village remained unharmed. As a token of gratitude for peace the inhabitants of Nederbrakel built a chapel there in 1924. It was dedicated to Saint Joseph, patron saint of Belgium during World War II.
Top Springs and Park. The famous springs are located in the beautiful botanic Top park. The park is privately owned but can be visited by appointment. The mineral water has been bottled here since 1898.
Top Bronnen Castle. This neoclassical castle is located along Brusselsestraat and was built in 1873.
Children’s farm Doggie. Townies wondering what a goat or a cow really looks like can come and find out at this beautiful square farm. Children and youngsters who want to learn more about life at the farm can visit the farm or camp there. And return home as fully educated farmers.
De Graal Brewery is a young, traditional and automated brewery, established by WimSayens,a certified brewer, in 2002. 6 different beers are brewed, all of which carry the ‘De Graal’ label. It is also possible to have your own beer brewed.
The Rijdtmeersen is a 5.5harecreation area. A small barrage leads the overflow of the Molenbeek brook into a pond called ‘Rijdtmeersenvijver’. As a consequence this pond does not only serve as a fish pond but also as a reservoir. A footpath round the pond runs through the entire area.
The Valkenberg. A hill that has become a mountain due to its reputation in the Tour of Flanders bicycle race. The Valkenberg is only 98 metres high, but taking into account its length – 875 metres – and a difference in height of 53 metres, it has an average gradient of 11%. Quite a challenge.
The Bicycle Monument in the middle of the roundabout in Nederbrakel is a memorial to the 2005 edition of the Tour of Flanders, when Brakel was chosen ‘Villa