A village with a smell. Parike owes this reputation to the rebellious inhabitants of Ghent, who came to fight a battle against Philip the Good, duke of Burgundy, in 1453. Parike was burnt down.
The name of the village – already mentioned in a document of 866 – is thought to be derived from the Liguric word ‘parnankom’, meaning a space separated by balks.
Today Parike is still burning. Each year the ‘Walmkenbrand’ bonfire is lit on Parikeberg, reviving a pagan tradition to celebrate the end of the chilly winter and the welcoming of a new spring.
Parike is situated along the regional road from Brakel to Geraardsbergen. Busy traffic along this road has contributed to the continuous expansion of the village in the second half of the 20th century.
Saint Lambert’s Church. The picturesque church was completely rebuilt and painted in 2007. A new spire was installed and the roof is now covered with slates from Galicia. The original church was presumable built in the mid 18th century, in classical style. In the course of the years it has undergone quite a number of changes. Only the walled-off cemetery has survived them all.
The presbytery is an old mansion in renaissance style, located at the end of Mantrouwstraat. The oldest part dates back to the 18th century. The garden and orchard are completely walled off.
Parikebos. The wood is owned by the Flemish community, but because of its extremely vulnerable vegetation, it is not open to the public.
TerPlancken farm was first mentioned back in 1400. In a document of 1571 it is stated the farmhouse is owned by the St. Peter’s Abbey of Ghent. The ownership lasted till the end of the Ancien Regime. At the time it was a farm with extensive grounds. In 1942 it was rebuilt into a villa.
De Mote is an archaeological site located at about onekilometre northeast of the village centre.